Microbiology Department



The establishment of department of Microbiology was initiated in the academic year 2015-16. The department is fully equipped to undertake both teaching programme of second MBBS students from the academic year 2016-17 and diagnostic Microbiology investigations.


Our Mission is to educate with demonstration sample material and e-technology and to ensure an effective planning, operation and control of laboratory processes


Our Vision is to establish a Microbiology department with teaching standards as per Medical Council of India and to establish laboratory standards as per ISO 15189-2012.


Facilities and Infrastructure

- Well-furnished Lecture Hall and Demonstration Room with audio-visual facility and accommodation for 100 and 50 students respectively.

- Seven equipped service laboratories – Bacteriology, Mycobacteriology, Serology, Immunology, Parasitology, Mycology and Virology.

- Upcoming Research laboratory.

- Furnished Practical Hall to accommodate 50 students.

- Departmental library with approx. 50 Microbiology books and manuals.

- A museum with displayed charts, models, specimens and slides.

- An established Clinical Microbiology Laboratory in the hospital premises with 24 hrs services.


Courses Conducted

Level of Graduation Faculty No. of Students Affiliated University
Under Graduate MBBS 100 MUHS

Academic activities for Undergraduate students:

- The department conducts following teaching and learning activities in the subject of pharmacology for undergraduate students. In compliance with the syllabus laid down for the subject by MUHS, the department runs theory and practical programs. The theory comprises of large group interactive lectures, symposia and small group teaching in the form of tutorials. Practicals are conducted in the form of demonstrations, simulated videos and case studies.

Meet Our Faculty

Dr. Rajendra Surpam


Qualification : MBBS, MD

Dr. Bhausahed Munde

Associate Professor

Qualification : MBBS, MD

Dr Virendra S. Kolhe

Assistant Professor

Qualification : MBBS, MD

Dr.Ruchita Gawande

Assistant Professor

Qualification : MBBS, MD

Dr.Nagina Kondapalli


Qualification : MBBS

Dr.Omprakash Bobade


Qualification : MBBS

Dr. Mamta Kapoor


Qualification : MBBS

Non Teaching Staff

Shri. Satyadev V. DhoteLab Technician
Shri Gurudeo E. KunghadkarLab Technician
Ku. Ashwini KalmeghLab Technician
Ku. Shubhangi R. AmbulkarLab Assistant
Mr. Ganesh ChavanLower Grade Steno
Mr. Ashish KambleLab Assistant
Ku. Supriya TureLab Technician
Mr. yashwant HanwateLab Assistant